To be held accountable

To be completely honest, I am not famous for keeping my new years resolutions.

And while I do not think I will make resolutions for the new year, I will make a few goals for this year.  I am posting them here so I have some sort of accountability.

Yearly Goals

1. Write more often on the blog.

I am not promising daily posts ever because I do not know where I would find the time.  Yet, I do want to document things that happen in my life and share recipes and finds with you.

2. Spend more time with friends and family.

This increased last year and maybe it will stay the same this year.  Who knows…

3. Cut out Dr. Pepper and fast food breakfasts.

I have an addiction to Dr. Pepper. If I am running late, I waste my calories and money on a fast food breakfast complete with a Dr. Pepper.   I got a nice new (to me) Vitamix blender for Christmas and hope to make smoothies in the morning.  I have done it for a few work mornings already and I have to say I love it!

4. Take a few short trips

I think I have always had a case of the wanderlust, but it is going to be a priority this year to experience new places. While I love a long trip, I need to start saving up for my next trip overseas.

5. Monthly dates with my godchildren

I have two godchildren and another on the way. They are so special to me, and I want to make them aware of it.  While the youngest is not at the age to really go on an adventure, the oldest one is.  This is especially important since he will only be stateside for about a year and half more.

6. Cook more meals at home

This one is already off to a good start since I made turnip greens,  crispy smashed potatoes, black-eyed peas and cornbread yesterday. I have plans to make breakfast for dinner tonight.

Monthly Goals

1. Cook 5 3 new dishes. – Crispy Smashed Potatoes, Tomato Avocado Feta Dip (Recipe to come)

2. Put aside $100 into my travel fund. (Have $20 saved from Babysitting income)

3. Have friends over for dinner.

4. Go see both of my grandmothers. (Going to my maternal grandmother’s today – 1/5/13)

5. Take my godson on a short adventure.

6. Watch my goddaughter for a few hours so her mom can have some free time.

7. Finish my thank you notes. (2 Down…)

Do you have any goals this year?

Leave a comment