Making a House your Home

I am a HUGE believer in taking your time and only purchasing things that you absolutely love for your home.  I also believe in taking your time to live in it before making any drastic changes.

While I am still in the process of purging my grandmother’s almost five decades of stuff, I have begun to see this house as my own finally.  I find myself appreciating the wall paper she has in the house more with time, except the wallpaper in the hall.  The hall is covered in a burgundy and white stripe wallpaper that screams 90s builder special to me.  I abhor it.

I know that I will be living with it until I make a few more changes first (such as removing the neon pastel green, which I can attest does exist, from the walls in the bedroom).  Yet, I find myself thinking about what I want to do to remedy the situation.

Do I go the lazy route and cover it with another wallpaper such as this grasscloth?  Or do I suffer through removing it and paint it a neutral color? Did I mention it is a LONG hallway with an offshoot that heads towards our master bedroom? I will leave you with a gorgeous hallway complete with my dream of a chair rail.

qvjswdreisxl

This traditional Hallway is wonderfully pleasing to me.  (Source: Lonny)

Leave a comment