Valentine’s Day

I am not one of those people that just loves Valentines Day or has major expectations for it.  I think it is partially because my parents celebrated it really low key.  As children, my parents had a present for each of us.  Meanwhile, they would not really celebrate it other than an occasional casual meal with just the two of them.

It might also be due to a traumatic event regarding valentines cards and stealing one of my sister’s and her retaliation. (J/k since I know you read this…sorta)

This year, the boyfriend and I have plans to celebrate in a way I find ideal.  We spend the day together.  We hope to go on a walk with our dog and visit our neighbors (aka The Horses).  That will be followed up with a quiet dinner at home.

Our menu is not fully set, but we are thinking steak, salad, sweet potatoes, maybe asparagus and a fun dessert.  One option that is winning out for dessert is chocolate lava cakes.  I love chocolate and a chance to make something I have not done yet.

We might end the night curled up watching a movie at home.  That is an ideal way to celebrate the holiday in our book.

Any suggestions on a movie to either rent or stream from Amazon or Netflix?

Leave a comment