Wednesday Wishes: Keeping it Beautiful

I put a moratorium on purchasing new beauty products during the months of January and February as I attempted to purge and reduce the clutter in my bathroom.  While I am still trying to limit myself in that area, I recently organized my counter and figured out a few of my beauty favorites.

Below are some items that I cannot live without and are allowed to be replaced as others are used up.

1. Dry Shampoo – I am a HUGE fan of this when I have straight hair days.  I have used and loved the following items: Rusk, Not Your Mothers Dry Shampoo, Toni and Guy and Tresemee.  I have tried others and though they did not meet or even come close to the standard these provided.  I recently broke my beauty product hiatus to purchase Klorane and we shall see what I think of it.
2. Phyto defrissant – I have curly, frizzy hair.  Nothing results in more compliments than when I use this product to straighten my hair.  I started using it after a friend give me her half used container.  (I am not sure why my naturally straight haired friend had this but…I digress) I have since purchased a new container.  I am in the process of contemplating these two products (day cream and curly hair mask) but I have to first PURGE some of my other products.
3. Redkin Curly hair conditioning shampoo in low foam.  I LOVE this and have purchased it three times enough said.  It cleans my hair without drying it. I also use this from them to help control my frizz as my hair dries curly.
3. Burts Bees Hand Cream – I love this.  My sister and I both purchased this without telling the other and LOVE IT.  Its likely to be replaced in the next month or so when i finally finish it up.
4. Hildegard Braukmann – This is my absolute favorite day cream for the winter.  I have ALWAYS peeled in the winter.  This product was orginally purchased because I went to Germany for 16 days in December 2012 and forgot my face lotion.  This was all I could find in my quick visit to the mall that was not EXTREMELY expensive with some UV protection.  Well LO and BEHOLD, my face did not peel for the first time ever.  I have been a fan ever since.  I order it when a friend is heading this way to have them bring it over.  It’s about 15 and I cannot sing the praises loud enough.  I wear it everyday and my face thanks me.  I imagine if they sold this brand in the US, I would try more of their products due to my love.
5. Kiss My Face olive oil soap –   My boyfriend suffers from dry skin and when I met him he was using a harsh bar soap that did not help.  I attempted to encourage moisturizing cream or gel soaps but he refused.  So I scoured the web and found this.  He loves it.  He likes the clean scent and finds that it meets his needs.  I notice he has less dry skin.  This has been repurchased over and over.
6. Micellar Water – I have used La Roche Posay’s and found that no noticeable difference between it and the cheaper versions made by Garnier and Simple.  I recommend all of them.  I have acne occasionally.  I use it ever night to remove make up and sometimes add a drop of tea tree oil to help keep my acne at bay.   I would like to try Bioderma’s version as some point.
7. Undereye concealer – I am the first to admit that I am lazy in the morning.  I often ONLY put this one from Maybelline before walking out the door and nothing else. I have dark circles under my eye regularly and love the ease of the applicator.  I have used it for years.
8. Oil Body Wash – I have used the L’Occitaine Almond Shower Oil for years.  I love it but this year the boyfriend gifted me Burt’s Bees Lemon one and I am loving it just as much.  No dry skin when you use this.  You feel clean and fresh.  There is no oily residue post shower.
9. Lip Liner – NO Bleeding Lips is my lip liner of choice.  It is a clear one that you apply on the outside of your lips and it goes with any shade.  I bought this cause my red lipsticks bleed so much and it solved the problem.  Three sticks later it is still the only lip liner I use.
10.  Nail Polish – I love nail polish.  I am really into nudes, reds and pinks.  But I bought this color and am trying out OPI Infinite shine system.  I am not sure if I see any difference between infinite shine system and the normal OPI or Essie.  I love these reds (1,2,3), these bold pinks and purples (4,5,6,7), these light neutrals(8, 9, 10) and these deeper neutrals (11, 12 1314,15, 16).

Leave a comment