Hurry Up and Wait

Sitting in the train station in Frankfurt, and seriously shaking my head at my worry about being rushed if I chose the earlier train. I not only had plenty of time, I managed to get a coffee and pain au chocolat and still have plenty of time to make that earlier train.
So here I am wasting another two hours in the train station.

Few things learned so far in the trip:
1. I really can’t sleep well on planes. I am too excited. We are talking like a kid in the candy store. I tried and probably got less than an hour combined. Now to avoid jet lag, I am trying to stay up until tonight. It is going to be a long day.
2. Really glad I bought the suitcase I did. Love the fact that I can push it while I pull my carry on luggage.
3. TSA will swab any packages of grits in your carry to check for luggage. Good news, mine were safe.
4. When you arrive before the sun is up, there might not be anyone in the customs area. We are talking …literally you walk right through.
5. I really don’t like airplane food. My breakfast consisted of delta’s version of an egg mcmuffin…I hate egg mcmuffin. I ended up eating part of a banana. I hate banana’s too, but it was the lesser of two evils.
6. Frankfurt airport is large. I had to ride a bus for 8 mins to get from terminal 2 to terminal 1. (There are only 2 terminals, but they are large terminals.) The bus was packed like sardines.
7. The toilet in the baggage claim area is really short. We are talking elementary school level.
8. You leave me alone in the train station for almost three hours and I might decide that I need hotspot Internet access for my visit and I end up purchasing the larger package….oops!
9. Already had first casualty of the trip. I lost my scarf on the plane and could not find it. Oh well, I guess I must replace it right?
10. I really miss my puppies. But it is nice to see all the cute dogs coming through the train station.

20121219-093245.jpg
This one was the cutest and I want to take the little daschund home!

Leave a comment