Leaving on a jet plane…

The bags are packed and small miracle has occurred…my suitcase weighs less than 40 lbs! You might be laughing but my trip to Chicago this summer involved summer clothes and a 49.8 lb bag. And for your reference, no one told me that those L train stations on the loop only have good old fashioned stairs.
It will be different traveling to Europe without my grandmother. The last three trips have been with her. Granted, the last one was a series of misadventures with two ambulance rides, two hospital visits, 1 German clinic, 1 broken ankle, two people sick with a virus and an 8 hr train ride where the cafe car was out of service.
I was very blessed to have traveled throughout Europe with my grandmother because you never knew what to expect. It has taught me that I enjoy traveling without a set itinerary, because then I a, able to catch things that are not covered in the guidebooks! Ellen and Tim are sure to provide another wonderful experience.

20121218-110629.jpg
(from my first trip to Europe age9 behind Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris)

Leave a comment